WinPE boot for Windows 7 stuck on splash screen

ttblum
Beiträge: 92
Registriert: 23 Jun 2017, 14:18
Wohnort: Cleveland, Ohio USA

WinPE boot for Windows 7 stuck on splash screen

Beitragvon ttblum » 26 Jun 2017, 19:40

Hello,

I'm trying out opsi, and I'm trying to deploy an unattended Windows 7 install.

I generated a WinPE image using the 'Product configuration-->opsi-winpe-->once' method. I copied the Win7Pro64bit DVD ISO to /var/lib/opsi/depot/win7-x64/installfiles, ran 'opsi-setup --set-rights' on that directory and ran 'opsi-set-rights' .

When I tried deploying this to a VirtualBox machine it only shows the Windows 10 WinPE splash screen. One of my CPU cores goes to 100% indefinitely, and it gets stuck there:

Bild

There is no spinning circle, though, only the Windows logo.

Has anyone else had this? I'll deploy this to physical hardware next to see if there's a difference.

Benutzeravatar
wolfbardo
uib-Team
Beiträge: 1157
Registriert: 01 Jul 2008, 12:10

Re: WinPE boot for Windows 7 stuck on splash screen

Beitragvon wolfbardo » 27 Jun 2017, 11:46

No.

which version of virtual box yua are running?

Which OS did you choose for creating the machine (win7 or win10)?

I'll recommend win10

regards,
Bardo Wolf


!!! ANMELDEN !!! opsi-Konferenz in Mainz am 02. / 03. März 2020 https://opsiconf.org

opsi workshops

https://uib.de/de/support-schulung/schulung/

Basis
23.-26.3.2020


opsi support by uib gmbh

http://www.uib.de

ttblum
Beiträge: 92
Registriert: 23 Jun 2017, 14:18
Wohnort: Cleveland, Ohio USA

Re: WinPE boot for Windows 7 stuck on splash screen

Beitragvon ttblum » 27 Jun 2017, 15:14

Thanks, that worked, I changed the VirtualBox machine to Windows 10 and it booted and installed Windows OK.

I was getting:

Code: Alles auswählen

'o:\win7-x64\installfiles\setup.exe' is not a recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file


but I realized that I had copied the ISO file into /var/lib/opsi/depot/win7-x64/installfiles, not the actual contents of the DVD.